Club Championships

The Club Championships are held annually in mid to late October, with competitions for Men and Ladies in Singles, Doubles and Mixed play. There is also a Handicapped Championship Competition that enables players of all skill levels to compete  - with the potential to win the competition.

Junior Club Championships are held in about May of each year with competitions for Girls and Boys in age ranges 7 - 8, 9 - 10 and 11 - 13 including Singles and Doubles as demand dictates.

2018 Club Championships 

The 2018 GTC Handicapped Championships were played on the weekend of 20th and 21st of October and the Open Championships were played on the 27th and 28th of October. This year there were sufficient competitors to run all competitions, including a Ladies Singles Competition, which was run for the first time since 2013. 

The weather managed to hold off while the matches were played, and there were some very close tussles, with many matches in the Open Semi-Finals and Finals going to a tie-breaker. The result was a very enjoyable competition with tennis played to a high standard. 

Congratulations to all players for the spirit in which you played and for the results you achieved, and a big thank you for the many people who entered the championships for the first time - particularly in the Ladies' competitions. Special congratulations go to the winners and the runners-up in all competitions.  You will see from the table below that there are some new names to go on the championship board - including Sharon Morse, Ruth Jarvis,and Regan Bull.  D. Karp also gets a spot in the Men's Singles space.

Competition Event Winner Runner-Up
SPECIAL Ladies' Doubles C. Nicholson / S. Davenport A. Kaderavek / I. Rawlence
SPECIAL Mixed Doubles J. Bell / D. Hannes P. Walton / B. Bernerius
SPECIAL Men's Doubles Duncan Ramsey / R. Hawkins J. Wardman / A. Birman
SPECIAL Men's Singles R. Hawkins J. Bull
OPEN Ladies Singles R. Bull E. Williams
OPEN Ladies' Doubles J. Gibson / R. Jarvis  S. Morse / A. Kaderavek
OPEN Mixed Doubles S. Morse / P. Callaway C. Nicholson / R. Hawkins
OPEN Men's Doubles P. McIlwaine / T. Thacker B. Geary / D. Karp
OPEN Men's Singles D. Karp M. Tavares


Club Champions

The  photo of the Club Champions Honours Board from 1980 onwards is shown below.  Unfortunately the records from before this time are unknown.

Championship Board

Mens Singles "Plate Award"

The Men's Singles Plate award was held every year from 1991 - 2004 with those knocked out of the first or second round of the Men's Singles playing off for the trophy.  In subsequent years a Handicap competition has been held including men's and ladies singles and doubles and a mixed competition.